Day 51: Deep Tissue

Standard

After getting rear ended about two-months ago, I’ve been going to the chiropractor about three times a week to work out some very stubborn knots in my back and neck. It’s been such a hassle- scheduling appointments, driving out of the way, waiting to be seen by the doctor and paying a $1,000 deductible, yet to be offered any settlement.

About two weeks ago, my doctor added deep tissue massages to my regimen. Holy cow. I had no idea how fabulous massage is. I’ve had them at resorts and spas before, but a deep tissue massage to get the kinks out is a very different experience. I had nasty little bumps and crap-deposits (that’s obviously not the medical term) that have been building up and hurting in a slow way that I learned to ignore. After about three massages, so much of my pain is completely gone.

My masseuse also has a passion for aromatherapy and is studying reflexology which was definitely an added bonus. She talked me through a theory about vibrations in oils and how they interact with the vibrations of the cells in your body… I didn’t even know such a thing existed. I love random little opportunities to learn something new. She also gave me some lavender oil to take home so I can fall asleep a little faster tonight. I hope it works because I’ve only been getting 4-5 hours a night this week.

I can’t wait until I get to go back Monday! Hopefully I’ll have a little more knowledge about the oils by then and can pick out a few to start working into my life!

Leave a Reply

