Day 42: Things that Never Change

Standard


Today I had lunch with my oldest friend, Cassie, who I’ve  known for 19 of my 24 years. I saw her mom, who I have referred to as mom since I was old enough to tie my own shoes. It’s crazy how quickly life flies by, how much can change overnight, how fleeting each moment is. Cassie and I used to spend nearly every day of our summer together. We’d pack bags for weeks at a time and stay at each other’s houses. As we got older, went to different schools, started working and going to college, moving even farther away, we saw each other less and less. We’re not the people we ever were before. We’re lucky if we talk every six months anymore. But even so, we can sit down and chat about life, laugh about the way things used to be, and let each other in on our darkest secrets. I love that no matter time and space and how much we change, she’ll always be a sister to me.

Leave a Reply

