Day 32: For the Love of Kindle

Standard

I used to be a pretty avid reader. I was on a schedule that put me in bed an hour before I needed to be, so I would read until I dozed off. Which, depending on the book, could be a matter of minutes, or keep me up well into the night.

Lately, it seems that I all I do is work or stress out about work. By the time I get off, work out and eat dinner, its time to go to bed again. My weekends are picking up shifts at my second job, laundry, errands, and squeezing in what social time I can. I know that I’m no busier than anyone else and I am working with the same amount of hours, so I’m not complaining. There seems to be a thousand other thing to do all the time. Reading never makes it to the list.

With nothing planned for today, a high of 88 degrees, and just a few of those happy little white fluffy clouds in a very blue sky, I took the opportunity to lay in the sun and do some reading. I forgot how much I love having my kindle. Downloading books on a whim, turning pages with the touch of a finger, touching words I don’t know to pull up a definition… Don’t get me wrong, I like the feel of a book. I like the way the pages smell when they get old, and I like to think about how many people have read that same book, and where they might have been, and what they might have thought. There’s something different about holding the weight in your hands, feeling the texture of the pages, sliding a bookmark in between the pages. But, I love the kindle more. I can have any book I want as long as I have Wi-Fi. I can highlight and make notes and bookmark without having to rabbit ear anything. I have access to free books – the classics that I love so much anyway. I can stick it in my purse. Take it with me where ever I go. Sure, I have to worry about a battery, but that thing lasts forever anyway.

So, today I’m thankful that I have my kindle. Such a first world convenience.

Reading today made me remember how much I love it and how much better it makes me feel. I like reading that challenges my positions, that makes me think about things I would not otherwise even know to consider. I made a promise to myself to work reading back into my life again – enjoy some one on one time with great stories on a regular basis. Start exercising my little brain again because I have definitely let it fall out of shape. Fear not, brain! Help is on the way.

Leave a Reply

