Day 20: Seasonal Closet

Standard

Growing up in Arizona, you had only had two wardrobes. Summer attire and a sweatshirt for the dead of winter. That was one of the best things about moving to Kentucky when I was 18. Winter clothes. Scarves, jackets, coats, hats, gloves… I went crazy. And every season is a little different, so you get to have a huge wardrobe that gets packed away every couple of months, then reintroduced right about the time you forget what you have.

The weather lately has been disgusting. Hot, muggy and without rain for weeks. I had moved most of my winter clothes downstairs to the basement and brought up what I thought was most of my summer clothes a few weeks ago. Today, I was doing some rearranging and found a box of great summer dresses and fun, flowy tops. It’s like shopping in a store with great taste where everything is your size.

So today, I’m thankful for the shifting seasons and my shifting closet. I know I won’t have the space or the means to be quite so materialistic in Europe, so I’m going to enjoy my seasonal wardrobe while I can.

One response »

  1. There is still plenty of room for scarves, cute cardigans, and cute flats. It was kind of nice not having to feel as materialistic while over there. I think it was because there it was almost more obvious that there were more important things to worry about than just the way you look all of the time.

Leave a Reply

