Day 17: This May Mean I’m an Alcoholic.

Standard

Today, I’m thankful for Sam Adams.

I can only hope I will have access to my sweet, sweet, Sam Adams in the Czech Republic. Summer Ale, Boston Lager, Cherry Wheat,  Octoberfest, Winterlager… I have a Sam for every season. Draft or bottle, I’ll take either. It’s the perfect balance of hops and barley, a little sweet and always refreshing. It may sound silly, but I have so many memories drinking this beer in particular. Good and bad, but mostly, good. Because I fell in love with it on my own, and it was there for me along the way.

I’m a serial associater – It seems that every bad encounter I have I end up associating something with so that I lose all enjoyment of that thing. A song that I once loved because it reminds me of someone I care about turns into a song I can’t stomach because it reminds me of a boy. A road I once wrecked on creates a detour for the rest of my life. A stuffed animal, a nail polish color, a piece of jewelry, a town. But not with Sam. It took me a while, because I shared Sam with someone I cared about once upon a time, but now, all is well and the well does not run dry. I was able to dis-associate and love the sweet taste again. Whether its for the love of Sam or the apathy towards the other isn’t important.

Thanks, Sam Adams, for being my go-to. Cheers to many more nights together.

Leave a Reply

