Day 8: A Little Balance

Standard

Day 8: Today, I’m thankful that I’ve rediscovered yoga.

I really enjoyed a daily downward facing dog in my college days, but once the “real world” started seeping into my life, things I enjoyed started seeping out.

Last week, I tried out a new yoga studio, and for the first time in a long time, stretched, bent and warriored. I’ve got a long road ahead of me. My balance isn’t great and I’ve lost a lot of the flexibility I once had.

Today, not in the mood for the gym or the studio, and loving this 86 degree air, I brought my yoga mat to the park and awkwardly stretched next to all the hillbillies here to fish, smoke, and drink cheap beer from cans.

It almost started to bother me- not the typical peace one strives for when they are practicing yoga. But then, that’s the way the world really is- a little drunk, a little silly and very much out of our control. Now as I’m writing this, Black Eyed Peas are blaring from the other side of the lake.

Through the noise and endless distractions, I am reminded I don’t have control of much in life. However, I have control of my outlook – so I’m going to keep working on that balance thing.

20120627-192353.jpg

Leave a Reply

